6 months post ORIF ankle surgery

Half of year passed since my ankle surgery. I still have the hardware in, a plate and 6 screws, and apparently it will stay with me forever. I still remember the day I broke my ankle into pieces and had surgery. I almost get a panic attack when I remember those 6 weeks of no weight bearing in a cast, followed by another 6 weeks of partial weight bearing in a boot. … practically, a total of 3 months  in a wheelchair being helped out to shower or feed myself. Anyway. no need for a panic attack as it’s all gone!

IMG_3376.JPG

So what’s the stage I am at the moment? I walk unaided, I am able to play my drums again, I can do whatever a normal person does….or at least what I’ve done before the surgery. I may be slower when walking outdoors, but at least I can enjoy being in the town on my own. I even plan a trip to Fiji, with changing plains, carrying bags, doing….stuff! To be honest, I always knew I would be back to what I was before the injury….even if my docs didn’t!

For the people out there who never had a major surgery like mine; don’t take thinks for granted! A bath, a shower, making yourself a cuppa, being in the garden, walking to the supermarket are amazing things. ..They are part of you being independent…and on your two feet. For those who are in early stages after an ankle surgery, immobile in a wheelchair, struggling with crutches and having a continuously swelling leg in cast: there is hope and light at the end of the tunnel. Don’t let your brain dictate that you may always be an invalid! Send positive thoughts out there, be determined, motivate yourself… and recover!

Fellow injured peeps asked me how I recovered so fast, as an average forecast in cases like mine is 12 to 18 month recovery process. My answer is always the same: I treated the post surgery stages as part of my life, never crossed my mind that I won’t be able to make it and just worked towards my recovery. No fancy exercises, no sweeting workouts…just doing normal day by day things. In regards to the hardware that holds my ankle together, well, it’s just part of my bones, part of who I am now. It’s not even visible! Fast recovery everyone!

7 thoughts on “6 months post ORIF ankle surgery

    1. Hi Rami. I am now 10 months post surgery, wearing high heels and exercising like nothing ever happened. I recently been overseas, carried my luggages in airports, walked 10km, danced. I don’t even remember having an injury and a surgery. Hardware still in, plate and 6 screws, but it doesn’t bother me. The scar is barely visible….actually invisible. You will be fine!!!!!

      Like

  1. HI Brigitte it has been 10 weeks after my orif left ankle surgery. There are 6 screws and plate fixed. I am walking with walking aid Walker. I can walk without it but some pain in my heal as swelling is still there. How long will it take to walk normal without pain and support. When will i climb upstairs, run, do aerobics, Yoga, dance and all. I love to enjoy my life just want to be back go outdoor just waiting to walk normal straight.

    Like

    1. Hi Reetika. As you know, I am now 16 months post surgery. I still have the hardware in. I started working out with heavy weights in the gym around one year after the surgery. I could have done it earlier! To be honest, I have no pain. It’s like I never had an injury or a surgery! 3 months after ORIF, you will be almost what you’ve been before it, but there may be some discomfort. In my experience, 6 months post surgery, things get easy. You will be able to climb stairs without any pain, do classes, everything you used to do before ORIF. I however believe that, if you rest and recover properly, you would benefit later. Therefore, I would suggest to take it easier in the first 4 to 6 months and then get your life back. It’s all about recovering totally. There are so many bad stories on the net about people rushing. The measure of doing things too early is pain. If you feel pain, don’t do it! Wait for a few days and try again. x

      Like

  2. Hi Brigitte,
    Your posts are so encouraging. I am just 5 days post surgery but these are 5 days closer to being able to do what I could before. I think and hope that despite the inevitable frustrating, difficult and down days ahead there will be often unexpected times and experiences that will teach me more about myself and life, things that will bring joy, laughter and appreciation of so much that I have taken for granted.

    Like

Leave a comment