9 weeks post surgery: moving town

So the big day of moving town arrived. The new house is located almost 6 hours from the house we used to live. Travelling was a bugger really because the car was crowded with bags of clothing, essentials, my wheelchair, my shower stool, duvet and pillows, as well as our dog Hendrix and 2 cats, Duff Duff and Miss Lily. We haven’t stopped once on the way home because I found a way to keep my leg comfortable.  I’ve done that by resting it in the boot on the car board for a half an hour, followed by half an hour without the boot hanging down. I had absolutely no problem and arrived safe to a house I’ve never seen before in a town I never been to. My hubby was my eyes in buying this house, whilst I was the paperwork organiser…in bed.

IMG_1876.JPG

Now, I have a good news for those of you who are in the early stages post op. Up to 8 weeks life can be quite hard, but once you enter week 9, things get to a good turn. You go to sleep tired and feeling mostly hopeless in the last day of week 8 and wake up a brand new person in the first day of week 9. You walk better, you do things easily and you feel useful. For me today is huge. I started 10% partial weight bearing in a boot 2 weeks ago and I got to 100% weight bearing in a boot. Still with 2 crutches tough. Once I unpack everything, I am able to focus on my exercises….and getting rid of one of my crutches.

Last night I’ve had the first proper bath and I was able to get into the bath by myself. It is easy really if you rely on the strength of your arms. It is even easier coming out. Tonight tough I will get in the shower on my own. I thought I could walk into the cabin with the boot on and take it out once I am comfortable on my shower stool….and then start the water. When coming out, I will make sure my leg is dry with the boot on again. Small improvements for a normal person….huge for peeps like me who had an ankle surgery.

Leave a comment