Walking with one crutch

Great achievement today: walking with one crutch! I cannot go far, but for the first time I left a crutch aside and this is amazing! I am a planer, very logical and strategic so the day after the surgery I made a plan from that day on to walking properly and I hoped it will pay off…and it did so far! An advise from me: don’t push it! I worked for many years in rehabilitation and had clients who went through exactly the same struggle like me. What I learnt from them is that too fast would do more damage. So, I use my crutches the whole day, but I have my wheelchair parked in the kitchen and I move from the oven to the fridge sitting on it. So, I alternate walking with sitting. From time to time I do something more spectacular like today when I left a crutch behind. My leg doesn’t really swell and I believe that this is because I don’t overdo it.

IMG_1935.JPG

Today I surprised myself and took a shower without the help on my husband. First I went to the bathroom and planed the whole thing. Only after than I hoped in the shower cabin wearing my boon and  sat on my stool. Once comfortable, I took my boot off and put it on my wheelchair that was just in front of the shower cabin at reachable distance. I then put a towel on top of the boot. I closed the door and started the water….and stayed then forever. When I had enough, I stoped the water, opened the door and firstly dried my foot, then put the boot on. Finally nicely walked outside. Remember that the crutches have to be next to the door in order to be able to reach them. So plan and adapt to the situation, guys!

These 2 great achievements made me very tired, so instead of blogging I should watch another “Suits” episode. Thank god for Netflix.

Leave a comment